Be the first to know… Powered by ×
Over 630 years ago, around 1390AD, our enchanting and cosy pub offered the weary traveller a refreshing beverage, a heartfelt meal and a tranquil place to rest; and we're proud to keep that tradition going! Here at The Dog & Badger we humbly pride ourselves with what we do.

Nestled in the heart of The Chiltern Hills in a unique position, a short way from the colourful towns of Marlow and Henley-On-Thames, we invite anyone and everyone to visit our wonderful part of the world!

With a rich historic background and idyllic location, a-stones-throw from the river, The Dog & Badger has been host to many eccentric characters over time, including the infamous Dashwood family of The Hellfire Club; themselves intrinsically linked with the area through Medmenham Abbey and helping restore the pub in 1860.

Medmenham is the only remaining riverside village in Buckinghamshire and has an intriguing Anglo-Saxon origin which is represented proudly by the newly decorated village sign by the parish church which was founded in 650AD, rebuilt around 1150 and much of it restored in 1844. The early 16th century tower contains three bells (two dated 1624 and 1691) and legend says that the fourth bell was sold to help ransom Richard I in 1189. As late as 1899 the Medmenham Parish Clerk used to announce the banns of marriage in The Dog & Badger before they were published in the church. The village pump is still in the front garden of 17th century Gillman’s, by the crossroads. Lodge Farm, just behind The Dog & Badger, was rebuilt in 1750 and holds a commanding position northwest of the crossroads and the main road itself was built in 1766 by the Hatfield Road Trust on the line of and old track. The history of the village spans over 4,500 years with its first recognisable settlements in the form of a dagger found dated to the bronze age and an iron age hillfort known as Guilleman's Wood; which is where our hotel's namesake comes from, translated down through the ages, just as many English locations, to Gillman's Cottage - named after a priest who lived in the area known to be a French-speaking hermit – “Guilleman" being the ancient French word for a hermit. There is unfortunately now no trace of the Saxon settlement from 550AD when Medmenham was in the ‘Hundred of Desborough’ which was one of the ‘Chiltern Hundreds' for which MPs apply when they wished to resign.

Our accommodation, Gillman’s Cottage, resides in a quaint and beautiful cottage over 550 years old, having been an ale house many moons ago it now houses 6 spectacularly comfortable and glamourous rooms amidst the modern fixtures and ancient wooden beams. Being such an old building we have rooms of varying size, some luxuriously spacious and others more historically quirky; mind your head as people used to be a lot shorter 600 years ago!